James Bitner, 35 and Jennifer Collett, 29 from Combs, Kentucky may be coming to your meeting-Parents Beware!!!

James Bitner, 35, and Jennifer Collett, 29, both of Combs, appeared in Perry Circuit Court Thursday morning where a 15-year prison sentenced was probated for a period of five years following last month’s guilty pleas on three counts each of first-degree criminal abuse, a Class D felony punishable up to five years in prison.

Following his indictment in May 2010, Bitner had been facing 17 counts of first-degree rape, seven counts of first-degree sodomy, 22 counts of incest, three counts of first-degree sexual abuse and three counts of first-degree criminal abuse. Collett was facing 12 counts each of first-degree rape and incest. They were accused of having sexually abused or raped the children, all of whom were under the age of 12, in 2008 and 2009.

All of the charges against them, with the exception of three counts each of criminal abuse, were dismissed in accordance with the plea agreement announced last month.

According to the sentence handed down on Thursday, in exchange for their pleas both Bitner and Collett will serve a total of five years of supervised probation, the duration of which will come with a bevy of conditions, including random drug testing with a minimum of one drug test per week for the first year of their probation. They will also be required to attend two Narcotics Anonymous or Lifeline meetings each week, completed 500 hours of community service with the Perry County PRIDE program and have no contact with the victims.

If either Bitner of Collett violate the terms of their probation, they could face up to 15 years in prison.

They were both credited with enough days in custody to be released from jail on Thursday.

Read more: Hazard Herald (KY) – Couple sentenced to probation in criminal abuse case

15 thoughts on “James Bitner, 35 and Jennifer Collett, 29 from Combs, Kentucky may be coming to your meeting-Parents Beware!!!

  1. How can you be indicted then for something so bad and be so innocent?

    This is what was reported.

    “Bitner had been facing 17 counts of first-degree rape, seven counts of first-degree sodomy, 22 counts of incest, three counts of first-degree sexual abuse and three counts of first-degree criminal abuse. Collett was facing 12 counts each of first-degree rape and incest. They were accused of having sexually abused or raped the children, all of whom were under the age of 12, in 2008 and 2009.”

    DID you use AA or NA for your plea? Yes I read you did. Are sober in AA. Many non innocent people use a plea bargain and AA and NA to get out of jail free card. 12 step is filled with criminals and violent offenders. AA tells you that you are powerless and makes your ego stay small forever unless you really do work with a real therapist and address serious issues. James , its good that you are clean and abstinent, but so are 25,000,000 muslims and they aren’t looking for a pat on the back for not drinking alcohol and doing bad things to their children.

    If you are so innocent how can these atrocious crimes to your children be brought against you to begin with?

    Like

    1. Then y would they dismiss all of the horrible sexually charges and have me plea to criminal abuse. If someone does these horrible things there is always evidence, and they r sent to prison for life!

      Like

      1. And also the kids was took from Jennifer Feb 13 of 2008, social services said it happend between 2008-09, Jennifer and I was split up, I wasn’t even around

        Like

      2. I agree with u 100% James Bitner. Justice will be served one day and hopefully u can get closure and your kids one day come find you. They know you are a great father. I see it everyday. You are a amazing man. I love u and I’m on your side. I know you are not quilty of any this!! One day everything will make sense.
        I love u James

        Like

  2. I don’t understand James. If you did not do any of these things to your children then why were you indicted on multiple charges? If we don’t know the whole story, please tell us so we can understand how something so horrible could have happened to your children, or how two innocent people can be accused of doing something most people can not even begin to fathom.

    Like

      1. Yes I agree these charges were horrible, but we never abused our children, we got in the system with social services, and they harrased us, if any of u r familiar with Perry county social services u know what I mean, they wanted us to give up our parental rights, and we did everything we were asked to do, we were a very close and loving family, the ppl who have my kids r getting over $5,000 a month to care for my kids, and not to mention the social worker (tammy hampton) who lives almost 3 hrs from where my kids r was over there on thanksgiving, sounds like family to me. I have been working hard to clear my name, and have turned my life around, I have been drug free and alchol free for over 2 years now, I am working on buying my first home because my kids know nothing happened to them, and r gonna want to come home to me when they can, I think about them everyday, and miss them very dearly! I have also done everything probation has asked me to do, and will continue to for the duration, as for my plea agreeement, the only reason I signed it was to get out of jail the only evidence they had was a forensic interview of the kids, which I have copies of, my parents hired an expert witness to review the tapes, and said it was all lies,, Teresa reed did not want to go to trial, but if it would have went to trial, think about it,, as soon as we would have walked into the courtroom, the jury would have automatically thought of us as scum,, ppl that harm children r! I would never harm any kid, ppl that know me know I was innocent! Jennifer violated her probation and is currently serving a 15 year sentence for this,, its sad that someone innocent is serving time in prison, but she also agreed to do the probation. I love and miss my children, they were all involved in after school activities, went to church, and all had great grades in school, all of them was healthy, that’s not signs of abused children, and also the prosecuting attorney turned down rape tests on my kids that my family was gonna pay for,, anyone can think or say what they want about me, but my kids know they were never sexually abused by myself or Jennifer,, my friends and family have been in my corner %100, it is sad that social services removes kids from homes that doesn’t need to b, and leaves kids in homes that need to b removed, its a business that a lot of state funded money is involved, they should try to help families more instead of just removing them,, well I said what I needed to say, hope whoever reads this realizes what’s going on, ans has a great day!

        James

        Like

  3. I believe that the issue here is not if Mr. Bitner or Mz. Collett are guilty or not. James and Jennifer are “required” to go to two Narcotics Anonymous or Lifeline meetings each week by court order. They have to do what they are told by the court system because that is the Law. To change the law, examples need to be sited and followed as reasons for change. I hope James and Jennifer can get through this tough time with as little problems as possible and thier lives and that of thier families will be mended through this process.

    Regardless if they are guilty or not in this specific case is irrelevant. The fact is that the Court system is set up to send both guilty and not guilty people to these programs. This process needs to be changed because of the inherent dangers it can cause. This is just one of the many examples of this happening currently in the US.

    Like

  4. Bitner, The story says that the charges were dismissed according to the terms of a plea agreement. They were not dismissed outright. Also, you are required to have no contact with the “victims.” If you had not done anything, there would be no “victims” to speak of.

    Like

  5. Its because we did not do nothing to our children it was all to take our parental rights, and would b embarrising to this county for everyone to do how we were done, my innocence was proven and thats why all the charges were dissmissed, so i wish everyone else would drop it, and let me get on with my life, if u live in pery county and have ever had to deal with s s then u know what i’m talking about, i always made sure my children were safe, and would have done anything to make sure they were safe, so as far as jennifer or myself doing anything to hurt them is absurd, besides people in this county that know me and know what kind of person i am, know i would never do such a thing and stand behind me 100% so sure lets go national with this,, so make sure u know all the facts before you want to talk about me,,,,,,,,,,, James Bitner

    Like

  6. This is actually beyond insanity. Anyone who hurts children in this way should be in prison for life. It is clear what is wrong with our system. It makes me want to move to another country, though I am not sure where…

    Like

    1. hadenough
      ditto!
      disgusting!
      dangerous!

      I am sure if our elected officials throughout the US knew this was happening they would be terrified!

      Wait a minute ….a Judge did the sentencing here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

