What Does the Word “Spirituality” Mean To You? Has AA Ruined This Simple Word For You?

Posted on January 5, 2013

From Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spirituality

Spirituality is the concept of an ultimate or an alleged immaterial reality;[1] an inner path enabling a person to discover the essence of his/her being; or the “deepest values and meanings by which people live.”[2] Spiritual practices, including meditationprayer and contemplation, are intended to develop an individual’s inner life.

Somehow this description does NOT sound like AA to me…does it to you?

Long before I attended my first AA meeting at age 18, I was praying and reading spiritual books. Books about God and Buddha. Many of us in the 1970′s were pouring over writings by Herman Hesse who penned Steppenwolf and Siddhartha and the poet Kahlil Gibran author of The Profit. As the smoke curled up from the joints in the ash tray in my old apartment in New York City, I knew as we  contemplated the meaning of life and what reality really was …..LOL …that God was not something you just ‘made up’ . We  painted pictures of angels on my bedroom wall with watercolors and listened to Jethro Tull, Cat Stevens, John Lennon and Led Zepplin depending on our mood.

I was raised Catholic and loved going to mass as a kid and singing hymns. I loved wearing my white gloves and early morning mass attendance during Lent. Prayers like The Apostle’s Creed in Latin, The Lords’ Prayer I had memorized all by the age of 7 and I got an A in Catechism.

So, where did I go wrong in buying into this made up honkey, mumbo jumbo, fake religion  of Alcoholics Anonymous, posing as a new thought, self help, reality of progressive arm chair pychology of the1970′s. The counterculture of the 1960′s spilled into the 70′s that then gave birth to the New Age religions that grew into many new cults.

Telling us teens things like, “take what you like and leave the rest” , Identify …don’t compare” was what I see now as extreme manipulation. The longer I am gone from AA …the madder I get sometimes.

WTF!

So with the challenge of courts and lawsuits that have already found AA a religion, I am stunned and horrifed. What religion tells the women , “what’s your part in it “when a man sexually harasses or rapes her?

AA clearly states it is not a religion. In the preamble it says,

“A.A. is not allied with any sect, denomination, politics, organization or institution;”…..really?

So when it’s convenient for them, its not a religion, but when it serves them… it is? Which is it. The 4th and 9th Circuit Court of appeals has already deemed AA a religion. If it is… it is a really sick f#####king religion that Aetna, Blue Cross and Kaiser need to know about before they pay for someone’s help with the rehabilitation from alcohol or drug overuse.

This is the next stage of activism we can all do eventually.

If the person who is non religious was sent by their Dr’s or an EAP ( employee assistance  program ) or Professional Therapist …I think it will be a slam dunk of a lawsuit.

Think about it.

But I guess there are two points to this post.

1) That clearly AA and Bill WIlson just made up a stupid fake religion calling it a fellowship back then in the 1930′s. Today, its called a program. People are mislead and think there are trained leaders and professionals there. There is no such thing.

In fact there is a high percentage of dangerous criminals there targeting vulnerable unsuspecting members. I have read in numerous news articles, judges actually telling a criminal /and or citizen to get a “sponsor , as if the “sponsor ” is trained like a priest or therapist. This is also not true.

In fact many sponsors give much bad and hurtful advice and after years can be know to power trip and think they should run the sponsees life in all areas, even if they are failures in their own careers and have no marriage or successful relationships.

My final point here is this…

2) That Health Insurance Companies have been boon swindled into thinking AA is a ….what… what do they think AA is? A religion? If not, do they think its a new age think tank for alcoholics of the variety from the dark ages? Shall we begin to let blood again.

Or should  we all call our health insurance companies and tell them what is really going on in AA and that they should no longer pay for rehabs who are 12 step based and drive their clients to meetings or… we will sue them, that the parents of murdered children  will sue them….

Mixing our medicine, a religion, a cult and a made up archaic program from the 30′s sounds like a recipe for disaster.

If we can get to our media, our entertainment, our Insurance Companies and our community to see this truth, we will be on our way to get science back into medicine where it belongs and to throw the cults out the window and pray that AA will be successfully sued like The Catholic Church for sexual pedophilia.

14 thoughts on “What Does the Word “Spirituality” Mean To You? Has AA Ruined This Simple Word For You?

  1. The years in these rooms have changed what I thought that word meant. For me it now means whats inside – at the core. No more religion, I dont equate my inner being with a diety anymore- not even the GOD spoken of by many. I define myself by what I do, getting rid of the many ‘ scripts’ was one of the best things I could do for myself and those in my life

    Like

  2. Oh on a funny note…That’s a good looking ” Jesus” up above! He looks like everyone I see at AA who is in Whole Foods and Mothers yet smoking weed and they look ill as I feel like saying ” YOU NEED A STEAK DAMN IT! ” 😛 j/k *just being silly*

    Like

  3. PS and oh yes…When you ask him or his followers to be accountable you will get (verbatim) ” Pray for him”,… ” “Write about it” , ” Well I am on this Blog and to Law Enforcement 🙂 You work your Program he can work his” …Um? Isn’t our Program the SAME AA we BOTH go to that makes me and others unsafe as he is not held accountable or told to STOP! “What is your part in it?”…Yes, what is my part in an abusive lying sociopathic sexual predators behavior with a charming mask hurting people in 12 Step Programs when vulnerable and ill? UH NOTHING IDIOTS! Maybe it is HIM? Novel thought, hold someone accountable for repeatedly hurting others under your own noses! Even when TOLD ABOUT IT! These people STILL allow it to go on.

    And of course…If we were all more ” SPIRITUAL” we would accept all of this crap right? (AA People) …

    Well, F*CK YOU! 🙂 I am very, very Spiritual and have been all of my life, just because I drank too much alcohol to deal with a death in my family and then got sober…struggle some…Doesn’t mean I need YOUR BRAND of “Spirituality” which is basically IGNORING criminal behavior and blaming victims! *ugh*

    🙂

    How spiritual should I be about the abuse of crying parents and family members trying to deal with their loved one who is just trying to save their lives behind ABUSED by one of your PREDATORS!? HUH?

    Spiritual my as$. Spirituality is NOT this. It’s a word bastardized by people like Joe Bourke and his supporters to assist him in exacting his disordered personalities dominant agenda.

    I lived it. Sick! 🙂

    Like

  4. What is so “Spiritual” about Joe Bourke who goes around “talking about God” and tells you he will (verbatim) ” Pray for you” when your crying and relapsing due to his horrific abuse….The supreme dope with no conscience…One who doesn’t give a crap if his name calling (quoting him) “B*tch, C*unt,Wh*re!” repeat 1000’s times…hurts people……What is Spiritual about Taking ZERO responsibility for his extremely abusive actions to many, many people and their families…. And yet he is the victim don’t you know? So Spiritual right? He can quote you the BB and stuff about God as if he is a recorded record…Doesn’t mean he follows any of it in his own life behind closed doors…This is a ruse for him. Despite the fact that he has a trail of abuse victims and his abuse victims in most cases have no one they have victimize in this fashion in their lives at all!
    This is someone who AA/SA/ALANON & BDA…”EMBRACE AS ONE OF THEIR SPIRITUAL LEADERS!”…I am just waiting for the U.F.O. to land and come and get him as this is about as insane as believing he is so spiritual.

    What is Spiritual about sitting there and “Leading a Meeting” to “Inspire others to be closer to God ! ” JUST LIKE HIM! When in his private life he victimizes sex trafficking victims, drug addicted prostitutes at the side of the road , OLD WOMEN that I have evidence of…*ugh* Comforting them as I hear them crying on my phone….Humiliated …Not knowing if they have HIV form him as he is positive….Threatening violence when you dare expose him …Even simply telling your own truth of your own experience which is none of his business once he has done it right? 🙂 And of course, PRETENDING YOU CARE…when he doesn’t give a stuff to get women in these programs into bed or his truck to use them for sex and potential leave them with a life threatening HIV infection as he SPLITS on to the next ..Although I found out he has many going at the same time…THAT ALLLLL THINK THIS IS SPIRITUAL! As they have drank the 12 Step Kool-Aid, do not know how to protect themselves against this sociopath in his 12 Step playground…..

    Did any of this affect my notion of “SPIRITUALITY” ? Not personally, as I know what it is….What I see Joe Bourke doing and his followers that give him legitimacy to hurt others in 12 Steps? Uh Not so much.

    AA letting him do this? That is Satan’s work….It has nothing to do with God. Thank God I am around 🙂

    I know what spirituality and God look like….and are. It’s not what I see here with him….And yes, he has people that want to protect him from simply being accountable and want to attack me? 🙂 Well good luck peeps, I am not one to stand for a lot of BS like this, people and their families get seriously hurt and I for one? Am not putting up with it. 🙂 Spirituality and Sociopathic Joe Bourke? Uh not so much. But he thinks so 🙂 That is all he talks about.

    The idiocy is exhausting. Peace out 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

