Man accused of raping multiple women he met in recovery – They really mean AA- Alcoholics Anonymous

LYNNWOOD — A Lynnwood man is accused of raping as many as 10 women he met through drug and alcohol recovery groups.

Police allege the man preyed on those who were vulnerable because of their addictions, including the newly sober. He reportedly offered to let women stay at his house when they were detoxing or worried about relapsing.

Several of the women say that before the attacks, they had told him about sexual violence they experienced in their pasts, and how that contributed to their substance abuse. Some said they relapsed after being raped again.

The man, 32, often led meetings for Narcotics Anonymous and Alcoholics Anonymous, according to the arrest report.

He was booked Wednesday into the Snohomish County Jail. He is being held on suspicion of one count of second-degree rape and three counts of third-degree rape.

Prosecutors Thursday said there could be more victims who have not yet come forward. A judge set bail at $250,000.

The women became aware of one another after someone posted about the suspect on Facebook, records show. Police were contacted Feb. 27.

One woman said the man often was asked to speak at AA meetings. She said he “appeared to be very spiritual and had an impressive story of sobriety.” In spring 2014, he made sexual advances and ignored her when she told him to stop, she said.

https://www.heraldnet.com/news/man-accused-of-raping-multiple-women-he-met-in-recovery/

 

6 thoughts on “Man accused of raping multiple women he met in recovery – They really mean AA- Alcoholics Anonymous

  1. Wow! I used to attend meetings in Lynnwood out at the Lynnwood Alano club. I live in Washington State.
    People in recovery are sick as well, when someone violates another human being all these losers say is “Oh, he is a sick man who has made a mistake, that is why we have a criminal justice system”.
    In short 12 steppers support this kind of behavior. I’m so glad I left. I mentioned it on here before, but I had a woman RUN after me wanting to talk once the meeting was over wanting me to call her, she was attracted to me so I was very uncomfortable. It’s okay to be attracted but don’t violate the persons space or act in a desperate manner. And of course it is NEVER okay to force yourself on anyone. Remember 12 steppers the LAW applies inside the rooms as well as outside the rooms. A preamble on what I just mentioned should be read at the beginning of every meeting.
    It’s almost like those 12 steppers act like they’re in some sort of alternate universe.

    Like

  2. Hey this article does not state this mans name. But it asks in the end to call if you felt you were abused by him too! Whats up? The paper was protecting his identity. I don’t find any follow up on this online. Have any of you? Bail of 250K is pretty large.

    Like

  3. One of the TWITS Still no doubt chairing at the “all mighty” meetings called my girlfriend “#9.” “She was his 9th “relationship” there. The rageaholic/workaholic boy needs WAY more than that goofy joke program. Woman NEED to stay clear away from those predator filled rooms. Stay away from the “Health” “Care” industry as well.

    Like

      1. Yes. I was in the same meetings as him and didn’t know until after I left and then met my ex. I’ve already told people about it/him. I know another woman she said “I don’t go back because they pass the woman around.”

        Like

Leave a comment